Pumpkin Seeds and Pumpkin Carving

I’d seen some really cute pumpkin ideas on Pintrest a week or so ago. I haven’t decorated a pumpkin in ages, and I was feeling a bit festive. I made this one, with a large pumpkin scooped out, and three white pumpkins made into cat heads. I used hard felt for the ears and whiskers, and a Sharpie for the face. I bought some cute ribbon at Michael’s Crafts, where I also work part time.

Instead of tossing the seeds out, I roasted them. This is very easy to do, and I’ve been snacking on them since. They are also great on salad.

pumpkin2Preheat the oven to 350F.

While scooping the seeds from the pumpkin, remove as much of the stringy pieces of pumpkin as you can. Spread them across a baking pan, as evenly as you can.

Drizzle 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil over the top, and sprinkle some salt. I also tossed a pinch of garlic salt on them.

Place in the oven and roast for about 30 minutes. At about the 15 minute mark, give them a good stir.

Pepper and cayenne also taste great on them! Feel free to mix up the spices to your liking.

Place on a sheet of paper towel and allow it to soak up the excess olive oil. Then, snack away!

pumpkin3

Leave a comment