Chicken, Mushrooms, Red Peppers and Tomatoes with a Cream Sauce

Yum. This is a great fall time dinner. It’s warm, comforting, and it’s pretty dang healthy. I love creamy sauces, this went great over rice. I’ve also eaten it without. The roasted red peppers and tomatoes give it a nice flavor, and I could eat mushrooms everyday. I had almost wished I had doubled up on them, but as much as my family likes them, it’s me who craves them.

This dish is not difficult to put together. Most of the time, I can’t sit and watch the pans so closely, so I prefer meals that I can allow to cook for a bit while I am cleaning up. I do find cooking relaxing, I just don’t always have the time.

chicken1

Ingredients:
1 large red pepper, sliced
1 large tomato, seeded and cut into slices
2 tablespoons butter
4 chicken breasts
2 garlic cloves, minced
salt and pepper to taste
8 oz mushrooms, chopped
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup chicken stock
1 cup Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon dried parsley

Preheat the oven to 375F. Place a piece of aluminum foil on a baking sheet. Cut the tomato and red pepper. Lay them skin side up on the baking pan, and bake for about 20 minutes, until starting to blacken.

While they roast in the oven, take the butter and put it in a larger skillet. Put the heat on medium, and when the butter has melted, add the chicken. Salt and pepper the side that is up, and sear. Once the bottom side is done, flip them over and salt and pepper the side that is already cooked. Sear the other side until it’s a light brown. If the chicken hasn’t fully cooked, this is ok, it will finish cooking later.

chicken3

Remove the chicken from the pan and add the mushrooms and garlic. Cook for a couple of minutes until they soften up, then add the chicken stock. Add the heavy cream to the pan, along with the Parmesan cheese. Stir together well to mix. Place the chicken breasts back into the skillet, and add the tomatoes and peppers when they are done roasting. Sprinkle a bit of dried parsley into the pan. Add a bit more salt and pepper, if desired. Turn the heat to medium low, and allow everything to cook together for about 10 minutes.

Makes 4 servings. Goes great alone, or over rice or quinoa.

Leave a comment