Gluten Free Blueberry Muffins

gluten free blueberry muffinsI woke up today craving blueberry muffins. It’s been months since I’ve had a muffin of sorts, and I really haven’t baked much lately so I decided to make a batch. I got over to the store before the snow started again to get some fresh blueberries, came back and put these together. I’ve gone with no sugar – and brought in some honey to sweeten them up a bit. I’ve added in a bit of flax for some extra fiber and omega-3. They were so good that I ate three of these today!

blueberrymuffin4Ingredients:
2 cups all purpose gluten free flour mix
1 cup blueberries
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temp.
1/4 cup honey
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon xantham gum
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons ground flax seeds
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

blueberrymuffin3Preheat the oven to 350F.  In a small bowl place the flour, xantham, salt, flax seed, and baking powder and mix together.

In a large bowl cream together the eggs, vanilla, and butter – then mix in the yogurt, maple syrup and honey. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet, mixing well. Stir in the blueberries carefully to not break them.  Scoop the batter into a pre-greased muffin tin (or into 12 paper cups if you use those). Bake for 25-30 minutes – until a toothpick inserted into one comes out clean.  Makes 12 medium sized muffins. Serve warm or cooled.

blueberrymuffin2

10 thoughts on “Gluten Free Blueberry Muffins

  1. Sophie33 2014/02/17 / 3:39 pm

    Your blueberry muffins look wonderful & appetizing too! Thanks for sharing this tasty delicious recipe! Another must make, for sure! 🙂

      • Sophie33 2014/02/22 / 10:28 am

        I made them & absolutely loved every bite of them! 😉 x

  2. Espirational 2014/02/17 / 5:10 pm

    Those look so good! Reminds me I have a bunch of blueberries in the freezer that need to be used before we move this summer. Looks like time for me to make muffins too.

  3. Joanna 2014/02/17 / 5:18 pm

    They’re so pretty!

  4. tabithasglutenfreedishes.com 2014/02/18 / 2:11 am

    These look great and I love idea of baking with Greek yoghurt and no refined sugar. I will be trying these with my kids.

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2014/02/19 / 1:55 am

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy them. I’ve been working on getting my family off so much of the refined sugar myself.

Leave a comment