Chocolate Beet Cake (Gluten/Dairy Free)

Chocolate Beet CakeOn my quest to do more gluten free baking and I’m excited as this is my first recipe where I’m using coconut sugar. Coconut sugar does retain some of it’s nutrients and is lower on the GI index than regular table sugar (I’d love to see more testing done on it however.) The taste to me was a bit like caramel, and I liked it. Not that I’ll ever call sugar or a cake healthy – but I like to be able to enjoy a treat like this and feel good after I finish. The downside on the bag of sugar was the price.

The cake itself came out luscious which we topped off with some whipped cream. It’s rich, full of chocolate and dark chocolate chips, deep, rich and damn delicious. You can’t really taste the beets in the cake – so they’re just giving more depth, some nutrients and keeping it moist. The looks I got when I said after the pieces were half eaten… “There’s three beets in this…” I burst out laughing.

beetcake2Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups almond flour
1/2 cup sweet rice flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons sea salt
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup coconut sugar
1/3 cup dark chocolate chips
3 large eggs
3 medium sized beets
1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup grapeseed oil

beetcake3Bring a pot of water to boil, add the beets and boil for about 30 minutes until the beets are fully cooked and soft when poked with a fork. Drain and allow to cool.

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a large mixing bowl mix together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cocoa powder, and sugar.

Take the beets and slice them, place them into a blender along with the almond milk. Blend until smooth. Transfer to a medium sized mixing bowl and combine along with the vanilla, eggs, and grapeseed oil. Whisk until fully blended.

Carefully transfer the wet mixture to the large bowl with the dry ingredients and mix well until fully combined.

Line a 9×9 square baking pan (8-9″ round works as well) with parchment and pour the batter into the pan. Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes, until a toothpick poked in the middle of the cake is clean. Remove from oven, allow to sit in the pan for 10-15 minutes then using the parchment remove from the pan and allow to cool on a cooling rack.

Makes 9 large sized pieces. Enjoy!

 

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Beet Cake (Gluten/Dairy Free)

  1. Lori 2014/07/14 / 7:22 pm

    I love that you didn’t mentuon that there were beats in there until after they had eaten! 🙂 I eat low GI so i have tried coconut sugar, but the taste was just so harsh. Do you find that? Maybe I need to give it another try.

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2014/07/15 / 8:40 pm

      I found this almost… nutty in a way? I didn’t use much overall in the cake itself since I don’t like really sweet dessert and I wanted the cocoa to shine – I have worked with sucanat before and that I found to be really strong.

      • Lori 2014/07/16 / 3:44 pm

        Ok, thanks! Maybe I need to try a little bit of it in something and not give up on it quite yet. 🙂

  2. Espirational 2014/07/14 / 7:57 pm

    Hi Carrie! So is it kind of like a “Waldorf Astoria Red Cake” (or some people call it “Red Velvet Cake)? I’ve been looking for a way to eliminate the entire bottle of red food coloring.

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2014/07/15 / 8:37 pm

      I had to go look at the Waldorf Astoria Red Cakes since I’ve never had one – and this is darker than that because of how much cocoa I’ve used. If you cut down the cocoa similar to how much is in those recipes it would look more like them. (You’ve got my mind going on these cakes now!) I’m betting that beet juice could be substituted for red dye in quite a few recipes.

  3. Sophie33 2014/07/29 / 5:05 am

    Waw! These look slipmacking beautiful! xxx

  4. vickidelbrouck 2014/08/05 / 6:38 pm

    I love beets and I love dark chocolate! Can’t wait to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

