Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Cauliflower Pizza CrustI’d seen these pizza crusts in several blogs and on Pintrest – but I’d been skeptical on how good could it really be. I’ve had some really good gluten free pizzas, but they’re fairly expensive for the size. I used a large head of cauliflower, and it made a HUGE pizza. I was also really happy with the taste – it’s not the same thing but I didn’t feel guilty at all eating this, and the whole family liked it. It also took about an hour total time to make – which doesn’t have the convenience factor of delivery or frozen pizza. Years ago before I found out about my gluten problem,  I loved to make homemade pizza. I’ll make this again and try out more toppings soon.

caulicrust3
Ingredients:
For the crust:
1 large head of cauliflower
2 large eggs
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
3 tablespoons fresh basil, minced
2 tablespoons fresh parsley minced

For my pizza:
1 large roma tomato, sliced
1/4 cup black olives, chopped
3 large button mushrooms, sliced
1/2 large green bell pepper, sliced
1/4 red onion, sliced
2 ounces of goat’s cheese, crumbled
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, minced

001Preheat the oven to 375F. Rinse and and place cauliflower florets into a food processor. (Mine isn’t very good, so I did this in 4 rounds.) Process until it has a rice texture. Place onto a baking sheet and allow to roast in the oven for 10 minutes.

Remove from the oven and place into a cheesecloth. I double layered mine, and made it into 4 smaller balls to wring out all the excess water. You’d be surprised how much water you’ll get out of it. Increase the oven heat to 450F.

In a mixing bowl place the cauliflower, eggs, salt, basil, and parsley and mix together. Place a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet and spread out the mixture on top evenly. Flatten it until it’s your desired thickness. Place into the oven and bake for 15-20  minutes, until it’s slightly browning.

caulicrust2Remove from the oven and place your desired topping on. I baked mine for about 8 minutes, but if you’re using a lot of cheese consider going to 10-12 minutes. Enjoy!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  1. Lori 2014/05/30 / 9:43 pm

    I’m glad you like how it came out! I’ve been wanting to try this.

  2. Grow. Cook. Eat. Share. 2014/05/31 / 1:15 am

    This looks great. I’ve tried cauliflower “bread” but not as a pizza crust. The step of draining the excess water is probably pretty important, and why the recipe I tried didn’t turn out! I might have to give it another try. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  3. Espirational 2014/05/31 / 8:09 am

    I use cauliflower for a lot of things, but haven’t tried the pizza crust. It’s one of those things that I have to hear about from someone who’s tried it to get me past the initial “ick factor.” 🙂 May have to give it a try now.

  4. breakfastdramaqueen 2014/05/31 / 8:44 pm

    Looks great! I’ve been wanting to try a cauliflower pizza crust for ages, but uh, have been too scared!

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2014/06/01 / 1:20 am

      I was a bit skeptical myself, but I really liked it. I did keep in mind that it wouldn’t taste exactly like pizza as well. I’m going to do this again – with different toppings and see what I think. I was really surprised the crust held together, although I don’t think it can ever get crispy like a good thin crust.

  5. lynndapril 2014/06/19 / 3:56 am

    This is next on my list to try! I keep seeing it everywhere, so I think it’s a sign!

Leave a Reply

