Jambalaya

jambalayaI haven’t gotten to have a spicy dinner for awhile and I’ve always enjoyed jambalaya. I’ve tried it several different ways, and this is my favorite way of having this dish. I do include tomatoes in my dish, along with three types of bell peppers. I also include okra, which is a vegetable that I don’t get to have very often and wasn’t able to get fresh today (frozen works just as well!).

jambalaya1Ingredients:
1 pound andouille sausage, sliced
1/2 pound chicken breast, cut into 1/2″ pieces
1 pound raw shrimp, peeled and deveined
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 large stalks of celery, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 yellow bell pepper, diced
2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and diced
1 14 oz can crushed tomatoes
1 cup okra, sliced
3 cups chicken stock
1 1/2 cups long white rice
2 tablespoons creole or cajun seasonings
1 bay leaf
2 teaspoons worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon Sriracha
1 teaspoon thyme
2 green onions, sliced

jambalaya2In a large saute pan over medium heat add the olive oil, onions, celery, peppers, jalapeno and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes, allowing the vegetables to soften. Add the chicken and sausage and cook until the chicken is no longer pink. (If using frozen chicken, cook in a separate pan first.)

Next add in the rice, tomatoes, chicken stock, creole seasonings, worcestershire,Ā  Sriracha, thyme, bay leaf and a pinch of salt. Stir together and reduce the heat to medium low. Cover and allow to simmer, stirring occasionally until the rice cooked, about 90 minutes.

Remove the bay leaf, and add in the shrimp and okra. Allow it to simmer until the shrimp are no longer pink. Top off with some green onions (and more Sriracha if you like) and serve warm. Serves 4-6. Enjoy!

 

6 thoughts on “Jambalaya

  1. Andrea 2014/05/15 / 8:02 am

    Wow I love jambalaya! I always thought it was so much more difficult because there are so many ingredients. You have inspired me! I used to order it over pasta but I think I also prefer it over rice. Thank you for sharing to the Gluten Free Blog Hop!

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2014/05/15 / 5:49 pm

      Thank you! It is really easy to put together (and I love having something that makes for good leftovers for lunch)

  2. Sophie33 2014/05/21 / 3:54 am

    Thanks for trying my white asparagus dinner & I am happy that you loved it too! šŸ™‚ I never tried or ate jambalaya before!! Your dinner looks just stunning! xxx

Leave a Reply

