Flourless Cashew Cookies

cashewcookie   It’s been a bit since I’ve done some baking and it’s something I really enjoy doing. These cookies are simple to make and really hit that spot when you’re craving that something sweet. Cashews are one of my favorite snacks – and making them into a sweet and salty treat puts a smile on my face. I did use sugar in these – which I often shy away from. I was unable to create the texture I wanted with substitutes.

cashewcookie4Ingredients:
1 cup creamy cashew butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1/2 cup unsalted roasted cashews, chopped
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 teaspoon sea salt

cashewcookie3Preheat the oven to 350F. In a medium sized bowl whisk the egg, then add in the cashew butter, sugar, vanilla, baking soda and sea salt. Mix together well and then fold in the cashew pieces. Make small balls from the dough and lay out on a baking sheet, 12 cookies to a pan. (I use parchment paper for less mess)Give them a light press with the back of a spoon to flatten them just a bit. Place into the oven for 10-12 minutes.

cashewcookie2Makes 18-24 cookies. I went with smaller cookies and got 22 out of a batch. Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Flourless Cashew Cookies

  1. cloudthyme 2014/04/05 / 9:26 am

    Love the idea of using cashew butter in cookies! So yummy 🙂

  2. arecipeforgluttony 2014/04/06 / 4:10 am

    I just made a batch of these. Didn’t have cashew butter so I used almond butter with whole cashews. It still tasted great & I love the texture.

    Great recipe

  3. Sophie33 2014/04/06 / 8:02 am

    I made your lovely cookies yesterday & they were very scrumptious,…Really yum yummm! x

  4. sleevers 2014/04/08 / 6:06 pm

    Thanks for this recipe! I have some almond butter lying around that I need to use up. I’ll try this.

Leave a Reply

