Gluten Free Corn and Zucchini Pasta Salad

Zucchini and Corn Pasta Salad with AvocadoI was talking to my doctor this morning and she asks “Carrie did you eat a salad yet today?” I mumbled no, as I hadn’t actually eaten anything yet and as much as I like breakfast I don’t eat right away in the morning. She always tells me she wants me to eat a salad a day – which since she’s started to tell me that I’ve been eating more salads, but it’s not a daily thing. I’d say four or five days a week I eat salad of sorts. They can’t be just a handful of lettuce with some dressing or I get bored, so I try to make fun salads like this which will be lunch and dinner for me today.

cornsalad2Ingredients:
2 medium zucchini
2 cups corn
4 cups fresh spinach
1/2 lb gluten free pasta (penne or spirals)
3 tablespoons lemon juice
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 avocado pitted and sliced

cornsalad3

Cook the pasta following package directions. While that’s starting – take the zucchini and slice them length wise, and then again making them into four long slices. Dice those up into bite sized pieces. If using frozen corn, de-thaw it. For canned just give it a good rinse. Place the zucchini and corn into a large bowl.  Give the spinach a rinse and add it to the bowl.

In a small bowl add together the olive oil, lemon, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Stir well and set aside. Slice the avocado in half, remove the pit and carefully scoop out the avocado. Slice into thin slices.

When the noodles are done cooking, drain the water and give them a quick rinse in cold water. Leave them still warm and add to the large bowl and stir well with the corn, zucchini, and spinach. It will wilt the spinach slightly. Take the small bowl of dressing and stir into the pasta and vegetable mix. Add the sliced avocado on top and enjoy!

cornsalad4This makes a lot – enough for 6-8. Serve either right away or chilled.

*Notes – I’d wanted to use penne pasta, however I used quinoa pasta and had not-so stellar results and it turned to mush. I cooked up some pasta that is a corn/rice flour blend and I’ve had real good results with it and the texture is good.  Use whichever gluten free pasta you enjoy best.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Corn and Zucchini Pasta Salad

  1. Kaila511 2014/01/22 / 5:22 pm

    My favorite gluten free pasta is Schar or the Wegman’s GF macaroni pasta. I cannot wait to try this recipe, such a great combination of flavors!

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2014/01/22 / 9:18 pm

      I’ll have to try those out – I’ve been bouncing around with different GF pastas trying to find the “perfect” one. I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

