Cheesy Potato and Beef Soup

potatoandbeefsoupThere’s been a lot of family and friends around with the holiday season. I’ve indulged in enough sweets and treats and have been craving healthier food. I really do crave vegetables and salad if I don’t get enough! This soup I put together as a bit of a compromise – everyone liked it, adults and kids. It filled up my crock pot, used ingredients I had on hand –  and I have some leftovers for my lunch tomorrow. Organic potatoes and carrots are both in abundance around here right now and I’m able to get for great prices – and they store well.

potatoandbeefsoup2Ingredients:
1 lb lean beef, browned
3 medium potatoes, chopped
2 large carrots, diced
1/2 medium onion, diced
2 cups milk
2 cups vegetable stock
3 tablespoons sweet rice flour
1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

potatoandbeef3In a large skillet cook the onions until translucent. Add the beef and salt, and cook until browned.

In a crock pot add 1 1/2 cups milk and vegetable stock. Take the other 1/2 cup milk and the rice flour and whisk together until thick. Add the thickened milk to the crock pot. Next add in the carrots, potatoes, and beef. Sprinkle the pepper and cayenne on top along with the cheese and stir well. Cover and cook for about 4 hours. Serves 6-8.

Leave a Reply

