Beef and Bean Enchiladas

glutenfree ehichiladas with beef and corn

It’s another of those busy days where I don’t have a lot of time to put together meals, so I made enchiladas. It doesn’t need a whole lot of prep time, and this makes a lot so great for when you have a crowd to feed, or like me and want leftovers for lunch the next day.

Finding enchilada sauce premade without gluten can be a bit tricky. Simply Organic makes a powder to mix that is gluten free, and La Victoria makes a canned sauce that is really good. Enchilada sauce isn’t difficult to make and I do make it here on occasion – but some nights I just don’t have the time. I do enchiladas another way and I’ll share my sauce next time!

enchiladas5

Ingredients:
Gluten Free soft tortillas (I used larger brown rice tortillas)
1 lb lean ground beef
1/2 an onion, diced
2 gloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup corn
1 14 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 4oz can diced green chilies
1 cup salsa
2 10 oz cans enchilada sauce (or about 3 cups if you make your own)
2-4 cups mexican cheese, shredded (pepperjack, cheddar, mozzarella)
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika

sour cream for topping

enchiladas4Preheat the oven to 375F. In a large skillet over medium heat place the olive oil, garlic and onions. Cook for 3-4 minutes. Add the salt, cumin, paprika and chilies. Mix well then add in beef and cook till browned. Then add the corn and black beans. Cook together for 4-5 minutes.

enchiladas3

In a 9×13 pan place about half a cup of the enchilada sauce and half the salsa. Take the tortillas and scoop some of the beef and veggie mixture into them – and a little bit of cheese. Make sure to get some to each end and to fill it enough – I had 8 larger tortillas so I could put a lot in them and still be able to wrap them. Wrap and place into the sauce, seam side down. Do this with all the tortillas. I had just a bit of leftover beef and vegetable mix – so I just placed it in the sides of the pan. Use the rest of the enchilada sauce and salsa over the top of the tortillas, then cover with cheese. I used a total of 4 cups in the recipe – however I love cheese. Place in the oven and cook for 25 minutes. Top with sour cream if you like. Serves 6-8.

enchiladas2*The brown rice tortillas I got were difficult to work with. I did microwave them each for about 15 seconds to try to get them to wrap better – and they were still breaking a part a bit. It turned out ok for this recipe, but I wouldn’t want for tacos or wraps. However they did taste good.

If anyone has a favorite tortilla they’d like to share with me, I’d like to know what other people like as far as gf tortillas. I’ve tried ones made of teff that I disliked the texture of, and I’ve used Udi’s – which were good but a bit on the small side.

 

Leave a Reply

