Jeera Aloo

Jeera AlooThis is such a simple and delicious Indian dish. Jeera Aloo basically translates to cumin potatoes – my family had been asking me for potatoes so they got them, with a side of brussel sprouts. The combo really worked out too, who knew!

jeeraaloo3Ingredients:
5 medium potatoes peeled and cubed
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons cumin seeds
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, grated
1 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon amchoor (mango powder)
1 teaspoon coriander
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

jeeraloo4Start with the peeling and dicing of the potatoes and get them in a large pot of boiling water with a little bit of salt. You want them to be tender, but still firm.  In a large skillet (I used my wok because they weren’t going to fit in the skillets I have) heat the oil for a couple of minutes then add the cumin seeds. Let the start to crack and brown a bit, then add the rest of the spices and the lemon juice. Cook together for about 5 minutes. I added about 2 tablespoons of water after that – then added in the potatoes.

jeeraaloo2

Coat the potatoes well into the spice for 4-5 minutes before serving. Serves 4-6.

*I had a hard time getting amchoor here. I ended up at our Indian grocery store to get it because my normal store didn’t carry it. It really has a unique flavor and I enjoyed it very much in this dish so I’d try to not skip it.

2 thoughts on “Jeera Aloo

Leave a Reply

