Gluten Free Lemon Raspberry Muffins

glutenfreelemonraspberrymuffinsGluten free baking still scares me. I’ve had a lot of things go bad on me very fast, it’s been the hardest part of eating gluten free for me. I’ve always loved to bake, holidays I’d spend days making cookies, breads, and muffins to share with my family. These I made more for myself, I didn’t use any refined sugar. There’s a bit of agave, which paired with the lemon and raspberries well.

muffins1Ingredients:
2 cups sweet rice flour
1 cup ricotta cheese (I used whole milk)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
a pinch of salt
1 egg
2 tablespoons agave (honey will work as well)
1 cup milk (I used 1%)
1/2 of a lemon, juiced
1 cup raspberries
muffins4Preheat the oven to 375F/190C. In a large bowl combine the flour, salt, and baking soda. In a medium sized bowl combine the ricotta, vanilla, egg, and lemon. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the flour and add the milk as needed – you might not need the full cup, depending on the flour you’ve used. Carefully fold in the raspberries. Place into muffin cups or straight into the pan (I didn’t have muffin cups so I greased the pan a little.) Bake for 25-30 minutes, checking after the 25 minute mark with a toothpick. Insert into the muffin and if it comes out clean they’re done.

Makes 12 large muffins. If you prefer your muffins sweeter – feel free to add some extra agave/honey or some sugar. I’ve been really trying to not eat refined sugar. They’ve been disappearing so they’ve gone over here, and my family likes sweeter food.

 

Leave a Reply

