Gluten Free Naan Bread

gluten free naanYesterday I’d gone out for dinner with my mother to a new restaurant in town. We had a coupon and decided to give it a try, and I’d seen them advertising lamb curry and since I love curry, I wanted to try. I was very disappointed, the curry was sad. The spices were barely there and there was no heat. The satay we tried was good but it left me wanting good curry. So today for dinner I made naan bread and one of my all time favorites, Chicken Tikki Masala.

gfnaan2

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups white rice flour
1/4 cup brown rice flour
2/3 cup milk at room temperature (I used 1%)
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoons olive oil
3/4 cup yogurt (I used plain greek)
1 egg
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons active dry yeast

gfnaan3Start with combining the honey, milk and yeast in a medium sized bowl. Let sit for 5 minutes. Then add the yogurt, egg, and oil. Blend until smooth. Preheat the oven to 450F.

In a large bowl place both flours, xanthan gum, baking powder and salt. Mix well and then slowly add the wet ingredients constantly mixing. Once all the wet ingredients are in the bowl, blend until it’s smooth.

gfnaan4Take a bit of flour and dust a counter or pastry board. Roll the dough into 6 small balls, rolling them into the flour because the dough is a bit sticky. Press them down until they’re about 1/4 inch thick. I used a spatula to help get them up and onto a baking stone – and placed into the oven. Bake for 2-3 minutes on each side, they’ll puff up a bit and brown. I topped them with a bit of butter and sliced them in half before serving. Will serve 4-6.

gfnaan5

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Naan Bread

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/11/15 / 6:05 pm

      Thank you! For my first attempts at naan bread – I was very happy with how it came out.

  1. Christine 2014/02/17 / 9:09 pm

    Reblogged this on Gluten-Free Cooking For One and commented:
    Must try this soon!! I miss garlic naan like crazy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

