Eggplant Marinara

eggplant4Cold, rainy, dark – is all I’ve seen here for the past few days. After running errands today I came home hungry and craving something Italian. I chose to use the last of my eggplant to make this.

eggplant1Ingredients:
1 medium eggplant, cut into bite sized pieces
1 green pepper, diced
3 roma tomatoes, chopped and seeds removed
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons fresh basil, finely chopped
parmesan cheese, to taste

pasta of choice to package directions (I used gluten free spaghetti noodles)

eggplant2.I started my pasta water first, and while that was getting ready cut up all my vegetables. In a large skillet over medium heat, warm up the olive oil and garlic. Let that cook for just a minute and add the eggplant and salt. Stir well and then add in the tomatoes and green pepper. Stirring occasionally cook for about 10 minutes. Add the basil and cheese and cook for another minute or two. Add to the pasta and serve immediately, top with extra cheese if desired.

I ended up skipping the pasta myself, however my family likes pasta a lot. I think it makes a great meal with or without. Serves 4.

4 thoughts on “Eggplant Marinara

Leave a Reply

