Turnip and Sweet Potato Mash

turnipandsweetpotatomashI picked up some delicious looking turnips over at the Farmer’s market this morning and had to sit and think… what am I going to do with them? I really don’t make them very often and after trying this – I’ll be picking turnips up more often! I might have to serve this for Thanksgiving since we usually have sweet potatoes of some sorts – and I think this would go well with a turkey.

turnip2Ingredients:
2 large turnips peeled and cut
2 large sweet potatoes peeled and cut
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon parsley (I used dried)
1 tablespoon salt
1 green onion thinly sliced
salt and pepper, to taste

turnip3In a large pot place the sliced sweet potatoes and turnips in enough water to cover them. Add the tablespoon of salt and bring to a boil. Cover and reduce to a medium heat. Let simmer for about 20 minutes – until they are soft to a fork.

Drain the water and add the garlic, butter, parsley, and additional salt and pepper. Mash together well with a potato masher. Top off with the green onions  and serve. Will serve as a side for 4-6.

 

3 thoughts on “Turnip and Sweet Potato Mash

  1. Sophie33 2013/10/12 / 4:12 pm

    MMMM,…What a lovely seasonal side dish! I must make this soon,..yummm! x

  2. vickidelbrouck 2013/10/18 / 9:25 pm

    I’m on the lookout for new side dishes for Thanksgiving and Christmas. This fits the bill. It looks yummy and I’ll bet it pairs well with both Turkey and Honey Ham. Thanks so much!

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/10/21 / 3:26 am

      I’m going to serve this up at Thanksgiving myself! I can’t wait to see what they all think of it

Leave a Reply

