Thai Cucumber Salad

thai1I’ve still got a few more cucumbers coming out of the garden and wanted to make a salad with just a bit of heat, and lots of good flavor. I really didn’t know how great salads could be until a couple of years ago when I started to lose weight and my doctor recommended I eat a salad a day. I thought I’d get bored of them fast, but when I realized all of what you can put into one – I got inspired. I might not eat a salad a day, but I do eat a lot of them.

thai4Ingredients:
4 cucumbers peeled, seeded and cut into bite sized pieces
2 jalapeno peppers, diced and seeded
1 cup bean sprouts
1/4 cup cilantro
1/4 cup rice vinegar
1/2 cup peanuts, chopped
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon salt

thai2Start with preparing the cucumbers. To easily remove the seeds – slice in half and use a spoon with just a bit of pressure and scoop the seeds out. Slice them up, salt them, and place in a large colander. The salt will help remove some of the excess water and give them a bit more taste.  Let them sit for 10 to 15 minutes.

Place the cucumbers in a large bowl and add the jalapenos, bean sprouts, and cilantro. Next add the sesame oil and rice wine vinegar. Gently toss it all together. For the peanuts, I laid them on a paper towel, folded it in half and used a rolling pin to break them up a bit. Sprinkle the peanuts on top the salad.

Notes – Check your rice vinegar. I’ve seen a couple that contain “barley malt.” For people very sensitive to gluten, it could create an issue. The majority of rice vinegar is fine.

 

5 thoughts on “Thai Cucumber Salad

  1. jackiraivo 2013/10/01 / 3:58 pm

    YUM!

  2. ✈ veganmiam.com (@veganmiam) 2013/10/02 / 8:37 am

    Yay for a Thai-inspired dish, I get so happy when I see posts related to Thai. I am missing Thai food and Thailand, I’m currently traveling in Argentina! The salad looks refreshing and love a bit of rice vinegar!

  3. wheyoutlive 2013/10/04 / 3:18 pm

    I love cucumber, especially heated up on top of salmon (sounds weird but it’s lovely!). I’m going shopping tomorrow as I think I’m going to have your salad for tea! 😀

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/10/04 / 4:37 pm

      I’ve never tried them on salmon, but I’m now curious and will have to try it! I hope you enjoy the salad!

Leave a Reply

