Brussels Sprouts with Pomegranate

brussels3Brussels sprouts are an underrated vegetable. We only have them here a couple times a year – usually because when I serve them, no one even wants to try them. I also love pomegranates and was excited when I saw them at the store, and 1 had to come home with me. We were making some small steaks on the grill and instead of the normal salad or grilled asparagus we often have with them, I decided to put this together instead. The texture contrast and the bit of sweetness really made the dish pop, and for once, the brussels sprouts were eaten!

brussels1

Ingredients:
1 lb brussels sprouts
1 pomegranate, seeded
1 tablespoon balsamic vinagrette
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

brussels2Preheat the oven to 375F. Wash the brussels and remove any extra leaves, then cut in halves.  Place on a baking sheet, cut sides down and put the olive oil, salt, and pepper on top. Place in the oven and bake for about 15 minutes. They’ll just be starting to brown. Remove the seeds from the pomegranate and mix in the balsamic. Place the brussels in a dish and mix the pomegranate seeds in. Serve right away. Will make enough for 4-6 as a side dish.

6 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts with Pomegranate

  1. jackiraivo 2013/09/25 / 10:28 pm

    I’d never thought to add pomegranates! Great idea: )

  2. deliciousdaydreams 2013/09/26 / 6:46 pm

    This is one of the most unique ways to eat Brussels sprouts I’ve ever seen! Would be a great holiday dish because of the colors.

  3. Natalie @ thathummuslife 2013/09/29 / 4:41 am

    I love Brussel sprouts and I love pomegranate… Both together is like a dream hahaha, I’ll have to give this a go soon!

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/09/29 / 2:42 pm

      I hope you like it as much as I did 🙂 I’ll be making it again for Thanksgiving, giving brussels another try with the whole family.

  4. ✈ veganmiam.com (@veganmiam) 2013/10/02 / 8:40 am

    I’ve never thought about pairing these two ingredients together, but I can imagine these semi-sweet, slightly tart and refreshing pomegranate will work well with the crunchy brussel sprouts.

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/10/02 / 4:52 pm

      They worked so well together, I was really surprised! I think this combination will get more of my family to try (and hopefully like) brussels. I get bored making the same types of side dishes when we have guests over.

Leave a Reply

