Mahi-Mahi with Spicy Cilantro Sauce

sauce2I’ve said it before – I’m not a huge fish eater. I try to eat it for the health benefits, but I end up finding it boring and not filling enough. This however, has changed my view on fish and how to make whitefish taste delicious! It was also very easy to put together, and could be made a couple days in advance.

sauce1Ingredients:
2 Mahi-Mahi filets
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup onion, diced
2 cups heavy cream
1 teaspoon garlic, minced
1 tablespoon cumin
3/4 cup cilantro, chopped
1 jalapeno, diced without seeds
salt and pepper, to taste

sauce3Place the oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the onion, jalapeno, and cumin and cook until caramelized, about 8-10 minutes. Next add the heavy cream and cilantro. Bring to a boil while stirring occasionally for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and let it sit for a few minutes before placing in a blender or using an immersion blender (I really need to get one of them). Place back in the pan over low heat and add salt and pepper if desired.

sauce4I cooked the mahi-mahi on the broiler in the oven – however cooking on the grill would work just as well. I set it to high and let it heat for about 10 minutes before placing the fish inside. Cook the fish for about 3 minutes, then flip over and cook another 3 minutes or until the fish is firm and opaque. Plate the fish and place the sauce on top and enjoy. I really could eat fish several times a week with a delicious sauce like this.

Notes – This makes a good amount of sauce and would easily work for 6 larger pieces of fish. We’ve decided that the leftover sauce will be used on salads tomorrow.  Despite having jalapeno I didn’t find it to be “hot”, however I was told it has a little kick.

 

2 thoughts on “Mahi-Mahi with Spicy Cilantro Sauce

  1. deliciousdaydreams 2013/09/23 / 9:47 pm

    This sounds tasty! How do you think it would work if I substituted coconut milk for the cream?

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/09/23 / 10:17 pm

      I’d cut back the milk a bit, try 1 and 1/2 cups since it’s not as thick as cream. If you try it – let me know how it turns out, I can see the coconut adding some good flavor.

Leave a Reply

