Veggie Fried Rice

rice4I can’t believe how cold it got outside so fast. I’ve already brought out all my sweatshirts and sweaters and ready for fall.  Also, I’d gotten some vintage pots and bakeware from my family to sort through, so I haven’t had a lot of time to cook over the weekend. I wanted to make something simple, warm, and tasty without having to run to the store to pick up ingredients. This really hit the spot and the leftovers will be eaten up later.

028Ingredients:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 white onion, chopped
2 eggs
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 cup carrots, chopped
2 cups peas (fresh or frozen both work)
1 green pepper, chopped
4 cups cooked rice

rice2I didn’t have rice already cooked, so I started with getting that started and simmering. Then add the olive oil, onions, and green peppers to a large skillet or wok and cook for about 5 minutes. Next add in the peas and carrots, and cook for another 5 minutes. Whip up the 2 eggs in a bowl gently – and add the sesame oil, and 1 tablespoon of the soy sauce. Mix until they are blended with the eggs.

Push the veggies to 1 half of the pan and slowly spread the eggs on the other half of the pan.  As the eggs are cooking, keep breaking them apart until they are in small pieces. Once the eggs are cooked, mix them into the veggies. Add in the rice when it’s done cooking and the rest of the soy sauce. Once all combined it’s ready to be eaten. Serve with more soy sauce on the side if desired.

rice3This made A LOT of food. It will easily feed 6 adults, or makes for good leftovers. The sesame oil really gives the dish more depth.

Note – Most “normal” soy sauces have gluten. We get several brands at my normal store that are gluten free however.

 

5 thoughts on “Veggie Fried Rice

  1. Espirational 2013/09/22 / 2:10 pm

    I love fried rice. Sometimes I make it with grated raw cauliflower instead of rice.

Leave a Reply

