Spinach Stuffed Chicken

 

chicken3-1As a child if we had chicken for dinner, it was bland, boring, and dry unless it was carry out fried chicken. Therefore as I became an adult I wasn’t a fan of chicken. As I’ve been learning more about cooking, I’ve learned how to make some delicious and easy chicken dishes and this is one of them.

chicken1Ingredients:
2 large skinless, boneless chicken breasts
2 slices pepperjack cheese (or 2 oz shredded)
2/3 cup fresh spinach, chopped with stems removed
4 tablespoons red peppers, diced
2 tablespoons fresh basil, finely chopped
salt and pepper, to taste

*toothpicks (I thought I had some but had to use grilling skewers instead)

chicken2Preheat the oven to 350F.  Set a chicken breast on some saran wrap, and cover it with another layer. Using a meat tenderizer, pound the meat into a thinner square. Remove the top later of plastic and add the slice of cheese, spinach, peppers, and basil. Wrap the chicken around the filling and use toothpicks to secure it together.

Lay them on a baking sheet and add salt and pepper on the top. I’d recommend using a sheet of tinfoil underneath for easier clean up (I had some cheese ooze out onto the pan). Bake for 25-30 minutes until fully cooked. Remove toothpicks and enjoy! I served them with steamed asparagus tonight for dinner.  My grocery store only sells fresh chicken breasts in 3 or 5 packs, which is a bit odd to me. I have an easy lunch for tomorrow ready!

 

Leave a Reply

