Crustless Strawberry Cheesecake

cheesecake1It’s Labor Day and for a lot of people in the U.S. there is grilling out and celebrating. My family is also grilling out today, and for once I’m not doing the bulk of the cooking. I did however make the dessert. I had to come up with a dessert to please everyone, and yet something I’d also be able to enjoy. I’m the only one in the family with any food allergies.

There is however, a lot of picky eaters. My family likes desserts that are quite sweet and this delivered, without being overkill for me. My only regret is not making it last night since cheesecakes are finicky and like proper cool time. It ended up going a bit flat with me rushing the cooling process. No one seemed to notice but me and it was still gobbled up. My other advice is to invest in a springform pan. I treated myself to a 3 pack of them finally – and it made the removal process much easier. (They’re also great for pizzas and quiches!)

cheesecake4Ingredients:

For the cheesecake
3 8 ounce packages of cream cheese, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
3/4 cup mascarpone cheese

For the strawberry sauce
3 cups fresh strawberries, diced
1/4 cup water
1/3 cup sugar
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
cheesecake3Preheat the oven to 350F. Wrap the bottom of a 9-inch springform pan with foil and place on a baking sheet.

Using a hand or stand mixer, mix the cream cheese and marscapone together until smooth and add the vanilla and sugar. Then add the eggs, one at a time and mix until fully combined. Carefully pour the cheesecake mix into the pan and bake for 10 minutes. Reduce the temperature to 250F and bake for another 50-55 minutes until the cake is set. The middle will still be a tad soft at this point. Turn the oven off and leave the door cracked open and let it set for about an hour. Then transfer it to a wire cooling rack to let it cool completely. Place in the fridge for at least 6 hours before serving.

For the sauce – set a medium sized saucepan on medium heat. Add all the ingredients to it and bring it to a simmer. Stir occasionally for about 20 minutes. Cover and let it chill completely.

cheesecake2For mine which fell a bit, I let it rest in the oven for only about 15 minutes then transferred it to the fridge for about 2 hours. Honestly no one said anything! I was pouting a bit at it falling, and I like what I serve to others to be perfect.

7 thoughts on “Crustless Strawberry Cheesecake

  1. zestinspired 2013/09/03 / 2:32 am

    Oh yum! I know what you mean about finicky. This looks perfect!

  2. momgfnoms 2013/09/03 / 10:21 am

    I need to try this and use the last of my peaches on top! Thanks for sharing looks awesome!

  3. Rae 2013/09/06 / 10:49 pm

    I haven’t had cheesecake since I went GF almost six months ago. Strawberry cheesecake was one of my favorites, I need to make this very soon!

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/09/07 / 1:16 am

      It really hits the spot and gave me my cheesecake fix 🙂 Let me know how it goes if you try it!

Leave a Reply

