Leftover Makeover Veggie Fried Quinoa

left3

I end up with a good amount of leftovers. Most of them get gobbled up for lunches, or occasionally breakfast. This isn’t so much a recipe, but one of my favorite ways to repurpose quinoa. I’d been out hiking in the afternoon and came back hungry, and saw this needed to get used up. I really dislike wasting food and I try to have as little food waste as possible. When frozen veggies are on sale at the store I stock up and save for dishes like this.

left1

Ingredients:
4 cups cooked quinoa
2 cups veggies fresh or frozen works (for this I used a bag of frozen stir fry veggies)
2 eggs, scrambled
2 tablespoons gluten free soy sauce
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, grated

left2Over medium heat, add the eggs into the pan. Scramble them up and break them into small pieces. Add the quinoa into the pan.

left3Add the veggies, soy, and ginger. Mix well and cook over medium heat for 5-10 minutes until everything is cooked, but veggies are still firm. Serve and eat right away, with as much quinoa as I had this because another full dinner that was ready in about 15 minutes, and could have fed 4.

3 thoughts on “Leftover Makeover Veggie Fried Quinoa

  1. Victoria 2013/08/25 / 9:27 am

    Yum… I love new ways to use up leftovers and since I’m new to the vegetarian world and just started using quinoa, it’s good to find different ways of using it

  2. Sophie33 2013/08/26 / 7:40 am

    I always use leftover too! A great meal! Yummm!

  3. deliciousdaydreams 2013/08/30 / 3:51 pm

    Quinoa fried “rice” is my absolute favorite way to use leftover quinoa! Yummy!!

Leave a Reply

