Chickpeas With Spinach

chickpeasI really like chickpeas. I also really like Greek food. So this dish delivers both of those to me, along with getting me to eat another big serving of green veggies. As much as I like salads – I need other ways to get enough veggies in my diet, and I need them to keep me full. I did make rice to go along with it, but I can eat this by itself, or with quinoa or other gluten free grains. I did enjoy it more with some feta cheese on top!

bIngredients:
1 medium onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 cups cooked chickpeas (or 2 15oz cans)
1 1/2 cups chopped fresh tomatoes (or 1 15 oz can)
1 teaspoon paprika
1 tablespoon oregano
8 cups fresh spinach (or 10 oz frozen)
1 lemon, juiced

Optional: feta cheese for sprinkling on top

aWarm up the olive oil in a large skillet for a minute, then add the onions and garlic. Cook the onions for a couple minutes until they become tender. Add the chickpeas, tomatoes, oregano, and paprika. Cover and simmer it for about 10 minutes, occasionally stirring.

cAdd the spinach. I couldn’t fit it all in at a time, but I sure did try. Let some of it cook down and add in the rest. Once the spinach is all inside the skillet, add the lemon juice and cook for another 10 minutes. If your spinach is really large, feel free to tear it a bit while adding it to the pan. Sprinkle with a bit of feta cheese before serving if you’re wanting a bit more salt.

dNotes: I use fresh spinach over frozen, as it gets really watery. If you use the frozen, I’d recommend letting it thaw out a bit and letting it sit on a paper towel to get a bit of the excess water out.

 

2 thoughts on “Chickpeas With Spinach

  1. Molly 2013/08/20 / 4:50 pm

    This looks so easy and absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

