Black Bean and Avocado Salad

xFresh. I wanted something light and easy to have along with some of my leftovers from yesterday. A salad that would be ready fast, and full of flavor. This fits the bill. I gathered up my ingredients from around the kitchen and went outside to get some fresh cilantro from the garden. To my surprise some hungry critter had gotten through the fence and nearly picked my cilantro clean. So I had to skip on my cilantro this time, and added a bit of fresh parsley (it wasn’t as good, but was worth a try).

yIngredients:
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1 semi ripe avocado, pitted and cubed
15 oz or 1.5 cups black beans, rinsed well
1 small or 1/2 of a large lime, juiced
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
pinch of salt

Slice the cherry tomatoes in half. Remove the pit from the avocado, use a spoon to scoop out the inside from the skin, and gently dice it up. If using canned beans you can dump them in a colander and give them a really good rinse. Add all these to a medium sized bowl and add the lemon juice, salt and cilantro. Mix well and you can serve right away or it’ll keep well for a day or 2. This will make 4 smaller servings or 2 larger lunch portions.

Enjoy! I hope your cilantro is safe from animal bandits!

4 thoughts on “Black Bean and Avocado Salad

  1. CortneyStanchfield 2013/08/15 / 2:18 pm

    This looks delish but I can’t have black beans… is there a white bean you would recommend?

    • silverdenarii 2013/08/15 / 5:02 pm

      Pinto beans would make a great substitution, they’re also pretty close in nutritional value to the black beans. Great Northern would work as well.

  2. traciw 2013/08/24 / 5:46 pm

    This recipe was delicious! It’s definitely a keeper for my recipe box. I initially thought it might be a little too much cilantro for my taste, but it blended beautifully. Black beans are my favorite, but I might do as the response above and use Pinto’s or Great Northern’s in place of the black beans just to mix it up every now and then.

    • Gluten Free Fabulous 2013/08/24 / 7:28 pm

      So glad you enjoyed it! I’ve made it with pintos once myself for variety and really liked it. Black beans are also my favorite.

Leave a Reply

