Blueberry Goat Cheese Pie

1Here’s a light, creamy, and fun dessert for summertime. The filling reminds me of a cheesecake, and tastes a lot more complicated than it is. I’ve spent many hours getting the tastes right – and I’m excited at how this has turned out! This is one of those things that made me smile as I took a bite – and we all need more things like this to eat! It’s not as sweet as the traditional pie, I don’t like my desserts overly sweet.

Ingredients:
For the crust:
2.5 cups almond flour
1/2 cup salted butter (1 stick)
1 tablespoon maple syrup

For the filling:
10 ounces of goat cheese (at room temperature)
6 ounces plain greek yogurt
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 tablespoon cinnamon
3 cups blueberries

008Mix together the almond flour, salted butter, and 1 tablespoon maple syrup in a large bowl, or use a food processor. It will still be a little sticky when fully mixed.

4Put just a little oil or non-stick spray into an 8″ round pan. Place the dough in and coat the bottom and sides evenly. Pick it with a fork a bit across the bottom and place the crust into the fridge for about 25-30 minutes.

9While the crust is chilling, preheat the oven to 350F. Combine the goat cheese, Greek yogurt, cinnamon,  and maple syrup into a large bowl and combine. This can also be done in a food processor if you prefer. Mine isn’t very good and likes to jam up, so I use an ancient mixer.

5Bake the crust for 15-17 minutes. It will be starting to brown. Set it aside to cool a bit, and give your berries a good rinse. Make sure to watch for stems or not so tasty berries.

6Add the filling to the pie crust, covering the bottom evenly. Make sure the crust is cooled enough so that the filling doesn’t start to “melt”.

7Top off with the blueberries and put back in the fridge to cool if the crust is still warm.

8 thoughts on “Blueberry Goat Cheese Pie

  1. mini2z 2013/08/13 / 2:15 pm

    Have you tried with stevia instead of maple syrup because to the diabetes factor for me?

    • silverdenarii 2013/08/13 / 4:38 pm

      I haven’t, but looking at conversions – generally 1/2 C maple syrup = 1 C sugar. 1 C sugar = 1 tsp stevia. So we’re talking just tiny bits for both the crust and the filling. I’d keep it out of the crust completely and use just a pinch (half of 1/8 tsp or less) for the filling.

      I have skipped the maple entirely as well, and went with 2 tablespoons of cinnamon for the filling. It was really good – and I like it, but giving it to my family who loves really sweet things (I don’t and can’t have anyways) said it’s not sweet enough to just rely on the berries.

      Agave nectar has a low glycemic index and I use that in some of my other recipes, it’s around 20-30 vs sugar at 60-65. Carbs are about the same if that’s a concern – but that could be substituted in equally. Is this something you can work with?

      I’ll pick up some stevia on my next shopping trip and see what I can come up with!

  2. CortneyStanchfield 2013/08/13 / 3:51 pm

    Looks and sounds fabulous! 🙂

  3. glyn50 2013/09/01 / 4:01 pm

    I will definitely be trying this one. Looks like a real winner for a late summer al fresco dinner. Glyn

  4. Saskia (1=2) 2013/09/06 / 4:08 pm

    This looks and sounds beautiful. I love a baked crust cheese cake, and the goat’s cheese sounds just gorgeous, not too sweet. Almond meal in the crust is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

