Caprese Style Portobello Mushrooms

013Almost everyone I know loves Italian food, and I do as well. However I don’t eat a lot of pasta. On the weekends I like to make more simple meals which often end up being meals just for me. Saturday morning is our downtown farmer’s market and I often have a bag of fresh fruit and veggies to eat. Right now there are tomatoes everywhere, and I’m happy to indulge.

003

Ingredients
10 large portobello mushroom caps, gills and stems removed
3 Roma Tomatoes, diced (Feel free to use whatever you have onhand – about 1.5 cups worth of diced or halved tomatoes)
8 oz Fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup basil, minced
Salt and Pepper

Optional – Balsamic glaze

009Preheat the oven to 400F. Dice the tomatoes and add with the olive oil, basil, salt and pepper. Stir it up and put it to the side to give it a few minutes to get the flavors combined.

007I’ve lined my baking sheet with tinfoil for easy clean up. Carefully remove the stems and gills from the mushrooms. I’ve found using a spoon is best for this.

008Slice up the fresh mozzarella and put 1 slice into each of the mushrooms.

010Spoon the tomato mixture into each mushroom, dividing equally, and pop them into the oven. They’ll cook for about 8-9 minutes. The cheese will be melted but still a bit firm when done. 011Top with a little of the balsamic glaze. I often skip it just to save on calories and sugar consumption since I’m trying to lose weight. I served these for lunch with a side salad which made to a great meal! They’d also make great appetizers or a side dish. This took about 25 minutes to make, including bake time.

2 thoughts on “Caprese Style Portobello Mushrooms

  1. Tanya 2013/08/11 / 3:08 am

    This looks yummy and easy! I am going to try this! šŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

