Middle East Tomato Salad

006Cooking for myself tonight – I wanted something quick, easy, and light. This wonderful salad meets all those with a lot of flavor. All of these ingredients are fresh and are overflowing everyone’s gardens this time of the year, a great meal to use up some of those overflowing veggies. This can be put together in 10-15 minutes without anything complicated, and stores well in the fridge.

001Ingredients
2 cups finely diced cucumber
2 cups finely diced onion (I used Vidalia onion)
2 cups finely diced tomato
1/2 cup finely chopped mint (more or less, to taste)
3 Tablespoons olive oil
3 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice
Salt and pepper, to taste
003Cut up the veggies, trying to keep them about the same size. I do the cucumbers first, and salt and pepper them a bit. I used 2 different kinds of tomatoes because that’s what I had on hand. If they’re overly juicy, you can let them sit in a colander a few minutes to let some of the excess drain.
004Add in the mint. This gadget is a herb grinder – and I love it. Take the top off, insert the herbs, top back on and grind it over your meal. Otherwise just cut the mint as finely as  you can and sprinkle on top. Add the olive oil and lemon juice (if you hold a fork in one hand under the lemon as you squeeze – it can catch the seeds so they don’t end up in your food!) and toss it all together.

002I had some bits of onion hit the floor and the cat vacuum came to investigate. Even though he didn’t care for it, I think this salad is great. I’d have made it as a side if this wouldn’t have been a dinner for one night, but it’ll also be a great lunch tomorrow.

Speaking of extra garden veggies – We’ve had commercials lately where our local food pantry has been asking for any overloaded garden extras. If you can’t use all yours up – donating some of it could make some very happy people.

One thought on “Middle East Tomato Salad

  1. traciw 2013/08/18 / 10:16 am

    I whipped this up while we were watching movies on a hot Saturday afternoon. Refreshing and delicious! And I used fresh mint right off my own plant for the first time!

Leave a Reply

